You must be at least 16 years old or older to ride a moped and must wear a helmet while driving. The state of California has strict laws that govern the operation of an electric scooter. Electric scooter operators on public roads and major roads in California must have a valid driver's license or learner's permit. Scooter drivers on public roads must be at least 16 years old.
The cyclist must wear appropriate safety equipment recommended by the State. The laws that govern the use of electric scooters in neighborhoods and on residential sidewalks are less stringent in terms of driver's license and age. The laws governing the use of electric scooters in California vary slightly between jurisdictions. Electric scooters are not allowed on sidewalks.
They must travel on roads that do not exceed the 40 km/h limit. California laws on the use of helmets for adults have been lifted amid a series of reports that injuries on scooters are on the rise, including the first confirmed death of a scooter driver in Washington D. Electric scooters are here to stay, but make sure that your scooter trips are just as safe and fun while complying with current regulations. The good news for electric scooters is that they only need to be registered with the DMV in one state, North Carolina.
Most states allow the use of neighborhood electric scooters on residential streets that have a speed limit of 35 mph. Like car rental companies, scooter companies are likely to adopt stricter rules for liability reasons, says Jim McPherson, a lawyer and consultant specializing in new modes of transportation. Before you decide to ride a privately owned electric scooter anywhere in the United States, first check the local laws and the specific rules and regulations of the state and city in which you are located. Even the Santa Monica website for its scooter pilot program says that passengers must be 16 years old, which reflects state law, but not the rules of electric scooter companies.
But why do electric scooter users need to know how to drive a car to operate a motorized scooter? If it's important for them to know the traffic regulations, why not require passengers to obtain a scooter permit? The students told Curbed that they had been able to ride Lime scooters without having to upload any licenses. They don't require passengers to pass a specific DMV exam for electric scooters; people can get away with it without having specific knowledge of the laws on motorized scooters. Four of the states (California, Colorado, Massachusetts and New York) do not allow scooters to be used on highways, highways, or limited-access roads because most scooters cannot reach speeds that are safe enough to keep up with traffic. Electric scooters for rent are highly regulated and have a special permit to operate in certain states.
In addition to age limits, some states will require passengers to have a valid driver's license or driver's license before using an electric scooter. You don't need registration, driver's license, or insurance to operate an electric scooter in most parts of Texas.